top of page

The Strand Club

The club was founded by a few local ladies in January 1996, who identified the need for an informal club socialising in the afternoon. 


The club has remained a small, friendly group, meeting at 2 p.m. in The Barn, The White Horse, Overstrand, on the second Wednesday of every month except August.  This means we can make use of their entertainments and alcohol licences as and when we need to.  We now encourage men to join our club and actively try to choose items on each year’s programme which we hope they too will enjoy.  Visitors too are always welcome.  Reports covering the monthly meetings can be accessed by clicking here on Reports.


We choose a different local charity each year to support.  In recent years we have supported NARS, Wild Touch, Hedgehog Haven and MIND.  This year's charity is St Vincent De Paul which helps local rough sleepers to get back on their feet. In April our full programme is posted on the Overstrand village notice board.  Our year is finished off with a super Christmas party, and the next one started off with a new years' meal in a Restaurant not too far away.


The annual subscription is £12 which is excellent value and which is payable  each March at our AGM.  Members then pay £2 (non-members £3) at the door each month which covers refreshments.  Raffle tickets are available for purchase throughout the meeting.


1: Membership is non-denominational, open to all but not to exceed 50 people.
2: The committee consists of Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer who are chosen by the committee, plus a minimum of three non-executive committee members to manage the club.

3: Voting for the committee members at the A.G.M will be by secret ballot.  Voting at monthly meetings will be by a show of hands.
4: Our designated bankers are Lloyds.

Committee Members

Chairman - Chris Wood 01263 579433 email:
Vice Chairman - Josie Dennis 01263 579748 email:

Treasurer - Pauline Clarke 01263 576671 email:
Committee Members with secretarial responsibilities  - Jean Fermor, Dawn Smith and Anne Brocklehurst

Committee Members - Tina Smith and Gill Vears 

Strand Club Programme.jpg
bottom of page